151st New Year Sprint
Brief History
Past New Year Sprints
New Year Sprint Search
Roll of Honour
Roll of Honour for Supporting Events
Terms of Use

Roll of Honour for Supporting Events

Since its inception in 1870 the New Year Sprint has been supported by events that have ranged in distance from a short dash over 60 yards to a full Marathon.

The supporting events have always seen athletes straining to deliver their best performances - often resulting in moments of drama that sometimes eclipse the excitement of the New Year Sprint itself.

Championships and short limit handicaps for backmarkers have been staged frequently to showcase the talents of the fleetest of foot.

Latterly veterans then youths races have made a welcome addition to the programme of events.

Display selected results from the roll of honour for the supporting events1 using the form below.

Distance category
Dash (up to 75m/80yds)
Sprint (over 75m/80yds up to 110m/120yds)
Extended Sprint (over 110m/120yds up to 200m/220yds)
300 (over 200m/220yds up to 300m/300yds)
Quarter Mile (over300m/300yds up to 400m/440yds)
Half Mile (over 400m/440yds up to 800m/880yds)
Mile (over 800m/880yds up to 1600m/1 mile)
2 miles (over 1600m/1 mile up to 3200m/2 miles)
Long Distance (over 3200m/2 miles)

Age group
Junior Youths
Senior Youths
Race type
Race modifiers
Short limit

Year range
From To

Display most recent results first

Runner details (optional)
Last Name Initial
Town or club

1Over the years supplementary meetings have been held at the New Year Sprint venue over the Christmas period. Results for races held at these meetings have not been included in the list made available here with the exception of the 880yds handicap, the "Christmas Half-Mile", which became an established event held for several decades. The 880yds handicap was incorporated into the New Year Sprint meeting proper in 1940.

Results have been assigned to the year for which new year's day lands nearest, e.g. results for the 140th New Year Sprint meeting held on 28th and 29th December 2008 have been assigned to 2009.

If you have spotted a mistake or omission please email webmaster@newyearsprint.com.

The Webmaster is indebited to Ian Whyte of Glenrothes for providing the results of the supporting events for the period from 1944 to 1981.