e The New Year Sprint (Home)

Brief History
146th New Year Sprint
Past New Year Sprints
New Year Sprint Search
Roll of Honour
Roll of Honour for Supporting Events
Terms of Use
Grossick Photography
Keith Simpson

Click here for site overview.

The contents of this web site are copyright protected.

Opinions expressed on this web site are those of the Webmaster unless otherwise stated.

For Hogmanay in the capital visit:

Go to Edinburgh's Hogmanay

For Hogmanay throughout Scotland visit:

Go to Hogmanay.net
The New Year Sprint is the most enduring open athletics event in the UK. A handicap race held over 110 metres, the Sprint has been staged in Scotland on or around New Year's Day annually since 1870. Competitors, both amateur and professional, vie for prize money totalling over eight thousand pounds.

146th New Year Sprint
The 146th New Year Sprint is due to be held at Musselburgh Racecourse, 6 miles east of Edinburgh, on Wednesday 31st December 2014 and Thursday 1st January 2015. The second day's racing is due to be held in conjunction with the National Hunt meeting. The New Year Sprint final is to be televised as part of Channel 4's coverage of the day's events.
The 110 metres New Year Sprint, with a 4000 first prize, will be supported by 90 metres Open, incorporating Veterans and Ladies sections, 110 metres short limit invitation, 60 metres Youths and 90 metres Youths events. Middle distance races will be held over 4 furlongs (880 yds, 800 metres approx) in both Open and Youths categories. All events feature a handicap starting system.
Click here for more details on the New Year Sprint meeting.
In the event that the National Hunt meeting on 1st January is cancelled, the second day's running will be held alongside the National Hunt meeting later in the month. Cancellation of that horse race meeting will not result in a further postponement of the running.

145th New Year Sprint winner Dylan Ali of Hawick.
145th New Year Sprint winner Dylan Ali of Hawick.
Photo: Grossick Racing Photography.

Race of Champions
The New Year Sprint has attracted top-flight domestic and foreign runners throughout its history. Most recently, 1995 winner Doug Walker, went on to become European 200m champion. 1987 winner Bill Snoddy (U.S.A.) was formerly the world's fastest man (wind assisted) and World Professional Record holder over 120yds, George McNeill, won in 1970. Sprinters such as Willie McFarlane of Glasgow (1930s) and Harry Hutchens of London (1890s), who are considered the finest of their generation, also graced the event with superlative performances.

Race for All
The Sprint is more than just a battle between the fleetest of foot. For this event features a handicap starting system designed to ensure that any runner, no matter what their ability, age or sex, has a chance of scooping the big first prize.

Mystical Air
The longevity of the Sprint, the participation of champion runners, the prospect of a front marker clinging on for victory and the determination of all runners competing at the most inhospitable time of year are all ingredients that lend the Sprint an almost mystical air.

Site Overview
Brief History: Highlights of the Sprint and its characters since 1870.
145th New Year Sprint: All about last year's meeting.
Past Sprints: Results since 1990; reports, photos, video clips from more recent meetings.
Sprint Search: A powerful mechanism for searching the database of New Year Sprint entrants and results since 1990.
Roll of Honour: Browse or search the complete list of New Year Sprint winners.
Sponsors: Who sponsored which event.

SHGA Fixture
The New Year Sprint meeting is a fixture of the open athletics circuit organised under the rules of the Scottish Highland Games Association (SHGA). The circuit includes traditonal Highland Games famous for "heavy" events. Games in the Scottish Borders are run under the rules of Borders Athletics.

British Athletics & Scottish Athletics approval
The New Year Sprint meeting has been sanctioned by British Athletics and Scottish Athletics for competition by amateur athletes who may keep prize money won.

You are visitor number

Counter by Sportingworld.co.uk

since 18th December 1998

Web site by Sportingworld.co.uk

Latest News
8 Dec 2014
Heats and starts now available:
• 90 metres Open
• 4 furlong Open
• 60 metres Youths age under 13
• 60 metres Youths age under 16
• 90 metres Youths
• 4 Furlong Youths
1 Dec 2014
Click here for the heats of the 146th New Year Sprint.
25 Nov 2014
Starts for the 146th New Year Sprint were published.
1 Nov 2014
Entries have closed for the 146th New Year Sprint meeting.
25 Sept 2014
Entry form for the 146th New Year Sprint meeting now available.
18 Sept 2014
Click here for details of the 146th New Year Sprint.

New Year Sprint Images
Close finish in the New Year Sprint final. Photo by John Grossick Photography.
Close finish in the New Year Sprint final. Photo by John Grossick Photography.
Crowd at the New Year Sprint.
Crowd at the New Year Sprint.