Brief History
150th New Year Sprint
Past New Year Sprints
New Year Sprint Search
Roll of Honour
Roll of Honour for Supporting Events
Terms of Use
Find us on Facebook
Grossick Photography
Keith Simpson

Click here for site overview.

The contents of this web site are copyright protected.

Opinions expressed on this web site are those of the Webmaster unless otherwise stated.

For Hogmanay in the capital visit:

Go to Edinburgh's Hogmanay

For Hogmanay throughout Scotland visit:

Go to Hogmanay.net
The New Year Sprint is the most enduring open athletics event in the UK, having been held annually since 1870. A handicap race held over 110 metres, the Sprint is staged in Scotland on or around New Year's Day and competitors vie for prize money totalling thousands of pounds.

150th New Year Sprint
This year saw a landmark in the history of the New Year Sprint as the event reached its 150th staging. This extraordinary sequence has been achieved continuously without a single break; a record almost without parallel in the history of sport in the UK.

150th New Year Sprint winner Greg Kelly of East Kilbride AC
150th New Year Sprint winner Greg Kelly of East Kilbride AC
Photo: David Rothwell.
The 150th New Year Sprint was held on Sunday 30th December 2018 and Tuesday 1st January 2019. The first day's events took place at the East Lothian Athletics Arena in Prestonpans, 9 miles east of Edinburgh with the second day's events held at the traditional venue of Musselburgh Racecourse, 6 miles east of Edinburgh. The New Year's Day foot racing was held in conjunction with the National Hunt meeting with the New Year Sprint final televised as part of ITV Racing's coverage of the day's events.
To mark this special anniversary, all prize money for the 110 metres New Year Sprint was doubled, resulting in a massive 8000 first prize. The Sprint was supported by 200 metres Open and 800 metres Open events and separate Veterans and Ladies 90 metres competitions. Youths races, with a lower age limit of 9 years old, were held over 90 metres, 200 metres and 800 metres.
The one off Former Winners Sprint saw New Year Sprint champions of yesteryear compete head to head with more recent winners.
All events feature a handicap starting system.
Click here for more details on the New Year Sprint meeting.
Race of Champions
The New Year Sprint has attracted top-flight domestic and foreign runners throughout its history. Most recently, 1995 winner Doug Walker, went on to become European 200m champion. 1987 winner Bill Snoddy (U.S.A.) was formerly the world's fastest man (wind assisted) and World Professional Record holder over 120yds, George McNeill, won in 1970. Sprinters such as Willie McFarlane of Glasgow (1930s) and Harry Hutchens of London (1890s), who are considered the finest of their generation, also graced the event with superlative performances.

Race for All
The Sprint is more than just a battle between the fleetest of foot. For this event features a handicap starting system designed to ensure that any runner, no matter what their ability, age or sex, has a chance of scooping the big first prize.

Mystical Air
The longevity of the Sprint, the participation of champion runners, the prospect of a front marker clinging on for victory and the determination of all runners competing at the most inhospitable time of year are all ingredients that lend the Sprint an almost mystical air.

Site Overview
Brief History: Highlights of the Sprint and its characters since 1870.
149th New Year Sprint: All about last year's meeting.
Past Sprints: Results since 1990; reports, photos, video clips from more recent meetings.
Sprint Search: A powerful mechanism for searching the database of New Year Sprint entrants and results since 1990.
Roll of Honour: Browse or search the complete list of New Year Sprint winners.
Roll of Honour for Supporting Events: Browse or search the complete list of winners of the supporting events at the New Year Sprint meetings.
Sponsors: Who sponsored which event.

SHGA Fixture
The New Year Sprint meeting is a fixture of the open athletics circuit organised under the rules of the Scottish Highland Games Association (SHGA). The circuit includes traditonal Highland Games famous for "heavy" events. Games in the Scottish Borders are run under the rules of Borders Athletics.

British Athletics & Scottish Athletics approval
The New Year Sprint meeting has been sanctioned by British Athletics and Scottish Athletics for competition by amateur athletes who may keep prize money won.

You are visitor number

Counter by Sportingworld.co.uk

since 18th December 1998

Web site by Sportingworld.co.uk

Latest News
1 Jan 2019
Greg Kelly of East Kilbride AC wins 150th New Year Sprint becoming first dual winner in over 80 years, having previously won in 2017. Douglas Young of Kelso is second followed by Alessandro Schenini of Giffock N AC.
Click here for full results of New Year Sprint. Note that Calum McWilliam and James Parker dead heated in the third cross-tie.
Click here for results of all finals.
30 Dec 2018
Cameron Tindle snatches mantle of champion of former New Year Sprint winners from Dougie Donald with Tommy Finkle third followed by Daniel Paxton and Tony Bowman.
Andrea Goodman of Dundee HH wins 200 metres Open.
Click here for New Year Sprint cross-tie draw.
Click here for results of all finals held on first day of meeting.
Click here for results of all heats of New Year Sprint.
27 Dec 2018
The provisional timetable has been updated.
27 Dec 2018
The provisional timetable has been updated.
23 Dec 2018
Provisional timetable available.
10 Dec 2018
Supporting events' heats and starts now available:
• Former Winners 90 metres Handicap
• 200 metres Open Handicap
• 800 metres Open Handicap
• 90 metres Veterans Handicap
• 90 metres Ladies Handicap
• 90 metres Youths Handicap
• 200 metres Youths Limited Handicap - age 9 - under 13
• 200 metres Youths Limited Handicap - age 13 - under 16
• 800 metres Youths Handicap
5 Dec 2018
Click here for the heats of the 150th New Year Sprint.
30 Nov 2018
Click here for the handicaps for the 150th New Year Sprint.
1 Nov 2018
Entries for the 150th New Year Sprint meeting have now closed.
29 Sept 2018
Calling all former winners of the New Year Sprint!
If you wish to enter the Former Winners Sprint at the forthcoming 150th New Year Sprint meeting and haven't already registered an interest, please email webmaster@newyearsprint.com
24 Sept 2018
Entry form for the 150th New Year Sprint meeting now available.
Click here for details of the 150th New Year Sprint.